The Jeffrey J. Zogg Build New York Award


    The 2021 Jeffrey J Zogg Build New York Award Application is now open

    Due October 4, 2021.  Click here to download an application.



    The 2020 Jeffrey J Zogg Build NY Awards winners

    Award Winner: Saratoga Race Course – 1863 Club

    Construction Contractor: MLB Construction Services, LLC
    Owner: New York Racing Association
    Architect: SOSH Architects & Frost Hurff Architects
    Engineer:HM3 Engineering Consultants
                                              Contributing Team Members: Mike Washburn, Superintendent, MLB

    Award Winner: Enid A. Haupt Conservatory – Palm Dome Restoration – NY Botanical Garden

    Construction Contractor: E.W. Howell Co., LLC
    Owner: The New York Botanical Garden
    Architect: Jan Hird Pokorny Associates, Inc.
    Engineer: Silman Engineers
    Contributing Team Members:    Bob Zirkel – EW Howell Co., LLC, Ursula Hoskins, RLA – The New York Botanical Garden, Cory Trembeth Rouillard, AIA LEEP AP,  Jan Hird Pokorny Associates, Inc., Rebecca Buntrock, PE – Silman, Joseph M. Vuto – JMV Consulting Engineering, Robert Tanzer – Rough Brothers, Philip Rennie, PE – planB

    Award Winner: Prospect Mountain – Phase 2

    General Contractor: L&T Construction
    Owner: New York State Department of Transportation – Region 9
    Designers: NYSDOT – Bergman – McFarland Johnson
    Contributing Team Members: Jeff Kenyon, Project Manager – L&T Construction, Aaron Antonucci, Superintendent, L&T Construction, Mavrick Micha, Superintendent, L&T Construction, Casco Bat Steel Structures

    Award Winner: National Veterans Resource Complex

    Construction Manager: LeChase Construction Services, LLC
    Owner: Syracuse University
    Architects: SHoP Architects
    Engineers: M/E Engineering, PC & Thornton Tomasetti

    Award Winner: Highbridge Interchange Rehabilitation – Design Build Project

    Construction Contractor: Posillico Civil, Inc.
    Owner: New York State Department of Transportation
    Designer: STV Inc.
    Construction Inspection Firm: HDR
    Contributing Team Members:   Universal Engineering Sciences – Materials Testing Lab, Northeast Structural Steel – Steel Demo and Erection, J&A – Community Outreach (DBE)

    Award Winner: Union College Integrated Science and Engineering Complex

    Construction Manager: Turner Construction Company
    Owner: Union College
    Designer (A/E): EYP, Inc.
    Contributing Team Members: Union College Facilities Department


    In 1990 the Build New York Awards program was developed as a way to highlight the positive impact of the construction industry in New York State involving building and heavy/highway construction.

    On October 15, 2010 the AGC NYS Board of Directors adopted the resolution to rename the Build New York Awards the Jeffrey J. Zogg Build New York Awards, in honor of late AGC NYS President Jeffrey J. Zogg.  This was done as a testament to Jeff’s nearly 40-year career of dedication and service to the association and a tribute to his drive for quality and recognition of the need to create partnerships within our industry.

    The awards emphasize the construction team, not only the general contractor or construction manager, but also many others – the owner, architect, engineer, subcontractors, suppliers, and craftspeople – who contribute to the success of a project.

    Since its inception, the Build New York Award winners have symbolized the best of construction projects in the state. Winning projects have included buildings and bridges large and small, new and renovations, public and private. Some projects are beautiful, others ordinary to the eye. But they all have one thing in common – they presented challenges that were met successfully by the winning company and the project team.

    Each winner is presented with a trophy made of Lake Placid blue granite, set on a sleek black pedestal, in recognition of the company’s efforts. The award is meant to symbolize substance, quality, and dependability, just as a piece of New York granite does. With the program now open to all types of construction, the winners of the Build New York Award will truly be able to claim that their projects are New York’s best!

    Since 1990, there have been:

    • Over 487 total entries
    • 126 winning projects
    • Over 127 participating companies
    • 54 different winning companies

    If you have questions about this program, or on how to apply,  please contact Brendan Manning at 518-456-1134 or click here to send him an email.

    Thank you to the 2020-2021 sponsors: